NEWS RELEASE

The Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments held its Annual Awards Banquet on Thursday, September 28, 2017 at The Vance Granville Community College Civic Center in Henderson, NC. Barry Richardson, Chairman of the Kerr-Tar Board of Directors presided over the meeting, which hosted an attendance of 157 people from across the region. Guest speaker for the evening was Dacia LaBounty of CenturyLink.

New officers for 2017/2018 were installed as follows:

CHAIRMAN: Quon Bridges – City of Oxford Commissioner City of Oxford

VICE CHAIRMAN: Jimmy Clayton – Person County Person County Commissioner

TREASURER: Sidney Dunston – Franklin County Franklin County Commissioner

Finance Manager, Donna Lee sang the National Anthem prior to dinner.

Kerr-Tar Annual Award presentations were made as follows:

KERR-TAR OUTSTANDING BOARD MEMBER AWARD

Joe Shearon – Louisburg Town Council Making the presentation was David Smith Granville County Commissioner

OUTSTANDING MUNICIPAL ELECTED OFFICIAL

Michael C. Inscoe – City of Henderson Making the presentation was Merilyn Newell Mayor of the City of Roxboro

OUTSTANDING COUNTY ELECTED OFFICIAL

Edgar Smoak - Granville County Commissioner

Making the presentation was Tony Cozart Granville County Commissioner

OUTSTANDING Town Administrator

William "Bill" Tatum - Town of Youngsville

Making the presentation was Fonzie Flowers Mayor of the Town of Youngsville

OUTSTANDING CITY OR COUNTY CLERK TO THE BOARD

Debra Weary - Granville County

Making the presentation was Tim Karan Granville County Commissioner

We also acknowledge the sponsors for the 2017 Annual Awards Banquet: CenturyLink, Union Bank, Pierce Group Benefits, Sunrock, NC Electric Cooperatives, BB&T, VC3, Duke Energy, PSNC Energy, Sprinkle Properties and First Citizens Bank.