Vance County Aging Plan

The Kerr-Tar Area Agency on Aging is assisting Vance County Senior Center staff in developing its Vance County Aging Plan.

The Vance County Aging Plan Steering Committee is meeting to help guide the process of completing the strategic plan in your community. Planning is crucial for Successful Aging! Everyday nearly 10,000 Baby Boomers retire. Older adults are not only living longer, but living longer within their community. The aging population is changing. Our goal is to capture opportunities and challenges in the community that will ensure a successful and healthy transition for the “Silver Tsunami.”

We would appreciate the resident’s of Vance County to come together to help build a strong community for all. As Kerr-Tar Area Agency on Aging proceeds with this project we invite you to join us with ideas and suggestions.

We have created a survey to address your concerns in the county. Please feel free to take the survey! Click here to access and provide your insight to the aging issues in Vance.

Governor Names DEQ as Lead Agency to Develop Plan to Invest $92 Million Settlement

North Carolinians with ideas about how to use $92 million from a court settlement to improve North Carolina’s air quality are encouraged to share their ideas as the State of North Carolina develops its plan.

Governor Roy Cooper named the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) as the lead agency to develop its Volkswagen mitigation plan. Close to 18,700 of the affected vehicles are registered in North Carolina, making the state eligible to receive more than $92 million dollars from the national settlement with Volkswagen AG and its Audi and Porsche affiliates.

Click here to read more.

November Is Family Caregiver Month

Governor Roy Cooper has proclaimed November to be Family Caregiver Month in North Carolina. This year’s theme is, “Caregiving Around the Clock.” Click on the link to see the Governor’s proclamation.

The Kerr-Tar Area Agency on Aging will hold a public forum on November 9th at the Vance County Senior Center, 126 South Garnett Street in Henderson at 11:00 a.m. The goal of the forum is to organize a monthly Caregiver Support group in Vance County. According to the North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult Services, the population of older adults will increase within the next two decades.Caregiver Flyer

In Vance County, 19 percent of the total population is made up of individuals 65 and better. By 2036, it is projected that there will be a 69 percent growth within the 65 and older population. The objective we want to accomplish as a region is to prevent major crisis from occurring within the lives of caregivers and their loved ones. Media_Caregiver Month November  MEDIA_Caregiver  

PUBLIC HEARING NOTICE Section 5311 (ADTAP), 5310, 5339, 5307 and applicable State funding, or combination thereof

This is to inform the public that a public hearing will be held on the proposed Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments Program Application to be submitted to the North Carolina Department of Transportation. The public hearing will be held on 10/26/2017 at 7:30PM before the Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments Board of Directors.

Click here for more information.

LUCA Training Dec. 19, 2017

The Local Update of Census Addresses (LUCA) is the once a decade opportunity for local governments to verify the Census Bureau’s address list for their areas.  Accurate boundary and address information is key to connecting Census questionnaires with households and getting the most accurate Census data possible.

The LUCA registration period is open now, and LUCA training sessions are scheduled across the state – .  New sessions are being added.  Please check the schedule regularly for new dates and locations.

Local governments may send any staff to the most convenient LUCA session to learn the details of the program.  The sessions are free and will last 3-4 hours.  Attendees should complete the LUCA Training Notification document at the bottom of the online schedule to make sure materials area available for everyone.

You may attend a LUCA training session regardless of your local government’s registration status.  See the participation map for current LUCA participation in North Carolina. Visit the Census Bureau’s LUCA website for more information and registration materials for the LUCA program – .